The guidon, bearing the cipher of King George IV (1820-30), is of cream silk with embroidered motifs. 563 x 923 mm.
Bucks Yeomanry Cavalry in 1802, the 2nd Mid Bucks alone survived disbandment on 1 April 1828, serving without government pay and allowances until taken back on the official establishment on 17 December 1830 as a consequence of the agricultural ‘Swing’ riots. The regiment was commanded by Richard, Marquis of Chandos, later 2nd Duke of Buckingham and Chandos, who lavished money on it. Prior to 1828, the 2nd Regiment had three squadrons, each comprising three troops, based on Aylesbury, Buckingham, and Winslow.
The 2nd Regiment was reorganised in 1828 with six of the original troops, but with new troops raised at Olney and Newport Pagnell. The original autograph roll maintained since 1795 and preserved in Buckinghamshire Archives was turned round to start again with 194 men, enrolment then rising to 250 men. The regiment was now authorised to augment its numbers up to 450 with troops distributed at Aylesbury, Buckingham, Chesham, Newport Pagnell, Olney, Winslow, and Wotton.
Four similar guidons, one identified to the Buckingham Squadron of the 2nd Regiment and one to No 3 (Burnham) Squadron of the 1st or Southern Regiment of Bucks Yeomanry Cavalry are held in the collection of the Discover Bucks Museum (formerly the Bucks County Museum). A sixth guidon was auctioned by Messrs. Bosley in July 2018, realising a hammer price of £4,200, well beyond the Trust’s reach. The BMMT guidon shown here is also the subject of the conservation video on this page of the website.